93rd Annual Delaware County Police Chief’s Association Banquet

Friday, January 20th, the Delaware County Police Chiefs Association held its 93rd annual installation banquet at the Springfield Country Club. At the banquet, Chief David Splain of the Nether Providence Police Department was named the recipient of the William G. Weidner Award, named after the highly respected former Chief of the Swarthmore Police Department. Chief Weidner served as a member of the Swarthmore Police Department for nearly four decades, serving as chief for 26 years before his passing in 1991. The award features a bronze eagle in flight and is given to members who provide extraordinary service to the association. Chief Splain, who has been a member of the association since 2013, served as the association’s President in 2020 and is currently serving as the President of the Pennsylvania Police Chiefs Association, added, “It is an honor and humbling to receive such a distinguished award and to be recognized by your peers.”